Anger is an Acid by Michael Clark

No comments

“Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured.” Mark Twain

This quote is found in this book and it’s a tone setter for the whole franchise – a quote which conjures up the thematic elements of all that’s gone before and all that is to come.

The Patience of a Dead Man series might just be my favourite series of books ever!

Anger is an Acid starts straight out of the blocks carrying directly on from Dead Woman Scorned – and boy, how good is that opening to throw us back into the world that Michael Clark has painstakingly given us over the last two books. It’s been a few months since I read the second book, but as soon as I started reading Anger is an Acid I was thrust straight back into this rolling nightmare and desperate to see how this all ends.

What you’re guaranteed with Michael Clark’s books is that the pacing is going to be spot on, and the same goes for Anger is an Acid. The tension is palpable, the action scenes are adrenaline filled nightmares, the building of secondary characters is not overly drawn out and the haunting aspect is spot on (as it has been with all of these books) and caused a great many tingles down my spine of appreciation.

In the conclusion to the Patience of a Dead Man Series we have everything packed into this plot that causes the reader to have closure on a number of questions that have built up in the readers mind.

Clark has painstakingly brought all of the threads from the preceding books and holds them firmly in his grasp as he pulls the reader this way and that – as we try to second guess the conclusion, and when we have a grasp of them he quickly pulls us off our feet and sets us on another path.

There are many characters that we’ve grown to love in this book and plus some new additions that get more air time, but each introduction furthers the plot that you’re even rooting for the secondary characters.

As I mentioned previously there are twists and turns and of course horror and haunting along the way which is dealt with in a sheer masterclass by Clark and the legend that is Mildred Wells will live long in the memory, she’s one of my favourite literary characters to date.

I don’t want to go much more into the book as it’s a part three and there are many spoilers lurking and waiting to tumble from my mouth, but you need this series, you need to discover it’s brilliance as soon as possible.

All roads lead home and to Tim and Holly but who will be left standing when all is said and done?

One of the most enjoyable and unputdownable series I’ve ever read, Clark has made me a fan of his work and I’ll be reading him for the rest of my life! It’s a five star series from me, every book has been awarded that accolade because they’re bloody brilliant and if you want to start Clark has also release all of the books in an omnibus… so check it out!

You can get a copy of Anger Is An Acid here.

Michael Clark

Michael Clark was raised in New Hampshire and lived in the house The Patience of a Dead Man is based on. The bats of the barn really circled the rafters all day and there actually was a man-made grove hidden in the forest. He now lives in Massachusetts with his wife Josi and his dog Bubba.

Reviewed by Ross Jeffery

Read our review of book one ‘The Patience of a Dead Man‘ here.

Read our Review of Dead Woman Scorned here.


Unlike many other Arts & Entertainment Magazines, STORGY is not Arts Council funded or subsidised by external grants or contributions. The content we provide takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce, and relies on the talented authors we publish and the dedication of a devoted team of staff writers. If you enjoy reading our Magazine, help to secure our future and enable us to continue publishing the words of our writers. Please make a donation or subscribe to STORGY Magazine with a monthly fee of your choice. Your support, as always, continues to inspire.


Sign up to our mailing list and never miss a new short story

Leave a Reply