Alligators At Night by Meg Pokrass

No comments

To do this book justice, I’m going to have to keep it short and sweet – keep it flash! If I were to delve into this flash fiction collection too much, talk too long, and too detailed about each story held within, it would in fact ruin the readers experience of what is a stunningly crisp and expertly woven flash fiction collection.

Meg Pokrass is an exceptional writer, the flash fiction princess as it were – her collection Alligators At Night is the perfect example for those who don’t know what flash is, or for those that are trying to write it, and undeniably for those who love the art form.

Each story contained within her collection affects the reader in some way, with her simplistic brilliance and mastery over the craft, she leaves the reader changed, and more often for the better. Pokrass’ voice throughout Alligators At Night is strong, direct and enchanting – she pulls the reader in from whatever is happening in their lives, and lets them live fleetingly in the worlds and words that she has strung together with her unique storytelling and deftly crafted flash fiction – which at times is unapologetically brave!

Many of the stories within Alligators At Night are only a page long (there are a handful that go on longer – which are also as enjoyable), and for Pokrass to move the reader in the way she does, and in so few words – perfectly encapsulates what flash is capable of, and also showcases brilliantly her guile as a writer, that less is most definitely more. Pokrass’ prose is delectable, each word fighting for a place on the page, there is a real blend of themes and narratives on show – but each story is fierce, compassionate and honest…just how I like my flash.

Alligators At Night is like a giant chocolate cake, and I am the fat kid who couldn’t help themselves, I gorged myself on it, polishing the whole thing off in a couple of sittings – it’s the danger of flash, and flash written as well as this – it’s here and then gone in the blink of an eye. But now I have a hankering for the taste, I know how good it was, how succulent and fulfilling and I’ll be dipping my chubby fingers back into the icing soon enough!

Alligators At Night is a stunning flash fiction collection from a master of the form and if you are after flash fiction with a bit of a bite, look no further than this most seductive of reads. It is literally gold dust!

Alligators At Night is published by Ad Hoc Fiction and is available here.

Meg Pokrass

Meg Pokrass is the author of five flash fiction collections, an award-winning collection of prose poetry, and a novella-in-flash from the Rose Metal Press. A new novella in flash “The Smell of Good Luck” will be published in 2019 by Flash: The International Short Short Story Press and a new collection of microfiction, “The Sadness of Night Bugs” forthcoming from Pelekinesis Press.

Reviewed by Ross Jeffery


Available Now!

This is the tale of a town on the fringes of fear, of ordinary people and everyday objects transformed by terror and madness, a microcosm of the world where nothing is ever quite what it seems. This is a world where the unreal is real, where the familiar and friendly lure and deceive. On the outskirts of civilisation sits this solitary town. Home to the unhinged. Oblivion to outsiders.

Shallow Creek contains twenty-one original horror stories by a chilling cast of contemporary writers, including stories by Sarah Lotz, Richard Thomas, Adrian J Walker, and Aliya Whitely. Told through a series of interconnected narratives, Shallow Creek is an epic anthology that exposes the raw human emotion and heart-pounding thrills at the the genre’s core.

Shallow Creek Paperback
Set of Horror Bookmarks


U.K. £14.99

U.S.A/CANADA £24.99

EUROPE £19.99



You can also purchase a copy of EXIT EARTH below!



Twenty-four short stories, exclusive afterwords, interviews, artwork, and more.

From Trumpocalypse to Brexit Britain, brick by brick the walls are closing in. But don’t despair. Bulldoze the borders. Conquer freedom, not fear. EXIT EARTH explores all life – past, present, or future – on, or off – this beautiful, yet fragile, world of ours. Final embraces beneath a sky of flames. Tears of joy aboard a sinking ship. Laughter in a lonely land. Dystopian or utopian, realist or fantasy, horror or sci-fi, EXIT EARTH is yours to conquer.

EXIT EARTH includes the short stories of all fourteen finalists of the STORGY EXIT EARTH Short Story Competition, as judged by critically acclaimed author Diane Cook (Man vs. Nature) and additional stories by award winning authors M R Cary (The Girl With All The Gifts), Toby Litt (Corpsing), James Miller (Lost Boys), Courttia Newland (A Book of Blues), and David James Poissant (The Heaven of Animals), and exclusive artwork by Amie Dearlove, HarlotVonCharlotte, CrapPanther, and cover design by Rob Pearce.

Find out more about EXIT EARTH here


Unlike many other Arts & Entertainment Magazines, STORGY is not Arts Council funded or subsidised by external grants or contributions. The content we provide takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce, and relies on the talented authors we publish and the dedication of a devoted team of staff writers. If you enjoy reading our Magazine, help to secure our future and enable us to continue publishing the words of our writers. Please make a donation or subscribe to STORGY Magazine with a monthly fee of your choice. Your support, as always, continues to inspire.PayPal-Donate-Button

Sign up to our mailing list and never miss a new short story.

Leave a Reply