BOOKS: STORGY Summer Reads

With summer just round the corner, it’s time to stack your TBR piles with exciting upcoming books. My picks include diverse and buzzworthy books catering to fans of all the major genres.

51y0cOq5ZKL

Perfect Little World by Kevin Wilson- This much anticipated novel of the author of the acclaimed The Family Fang is about a scientist attempt at creating an ideal parenting utopia. A funny, poignant and whimsical look at dysfunctional families and breaking societal conventions.

FIERCE-KINGDOM-DEMY- cover

Fierce Kingdom by Gin Phillips – A riveting survival tale about the ferocity of a mother’s love, this story is gripping, intense and provocative. This adrenaline-fueled thriller will have you biting your nails.

51XwiGuiEhL

The Futures by Anna Pitoniak – The Big Short meetsGirls,this character-driven and insightful story is centered around young and hopeful college grads who find themselves grappling in the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis. Tackling New York life, millenials and love in your debut novel might seem like a tall order but Anna does it with exuberant finesse.

A thousand paper birds cover

A Thousand Paper Birds by Tor Udal – An evocative book about grief, loss and love and a must read for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Alice Sebold. This moving and delicately written debut is a life-affirming story about the intersection of the lives of five individuals.

51rxvSttnDL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

The Chalk Artist by Allegra Goodman – This intricately written novel takes the best of diverse genres like romance, literary and contemporary culture and combines them in a soulful story about art and love. The Chalk Artist underscores the implications of virtual reality, art and ambition as experienced by millenials.

city of circles cover 

City of Circles by Jess Richards – Fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern will love this latest book from the Costa-shortlisted author. An enthralling love story about two circus performers, City of Circles is mesmerizing and vividly imagined.

all the good things cover

All the Good Things by Clare Fisher – A moving and vividly realized debut about a young girl in prison. This gritty and shrewdly written book sheds light on mental illness and the people who fall through the cracks of a flawed system.

the end of day cover

The End of the Day by Claire North – Claire North is back with yet another intriguing novel. This one is about Charlie, the Harbinger of Death. This book is more introspective and politically aware than her previous ones but just as engaging.

615lREwbcoL

The Sunshine Sisters by Jane Green – This warm hearted and entertaining family tale is a perfect beach read. The story of three daughters of a former movie star, The Sunshine Sisters is an enjoyable family saga.

the house cover

The House by Simon Lelic – This electrifying thriller is about a couple secure their dream house but soon find out that everything is not as perfect as it seems. Spooky and intense, you can’t help but look nervously over your shoulder after reading this.

borne cover

Borne by Jeff VanderMeer – The much anticipated new book from the acclaimed writer of the Southern Reach trilogy is an enthralling epic. This wonderfully bizarre book is part whacky post-apocalyptic fiction and part absurdist dark fable.

under the sun cover

Under the Sun by Lottie Moggach – This gripping novel offers a very contemporary take on heartbreak, immigration and identity. Set in Spain, Under the Sun has elements of romance and mystery, making for a compelling read.

the boy on the bridge cover

The Boy on the Bridge by M.R.Carey – This is a terrifying prequel to the sensational The Girl With All the Gifts. A powerful, compassionate  book set in the same post-apocalyptic world as its predecessor, it is a gripping story about humanity on the brink of extinction.

List by Rabeea Saleem

nerd-glasses-with-tape

Unlike many other Arts & Entertainment Magazines, STORGY is not Arts Council funded or subsidised by external grants or contributions. The content we provide takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce, and relies on the talented authors we publish and the dedication of a devoted team of staff writers. If you enjoy reading our Magazine, help to secure our future and enable us to continue publishing  the words of our writers. Please make a donation or subscribe to STORGY Magazine with a monthly fee of your choice. Your support, as always, continues to inspire.

PayPal-Donate-Button

Read more of Rabeea Saleem‘s reviews:

You Don’t Know Me

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707

Boundary

NEW COVER

Sign up to our mailing list and never miss a new short story.

Follow us on:

facebooktwitterinstagrambutton

BOOK REVIEWS

open-book-2

FILM REVIEWS

camera-159581_960_720

AUTHOR INDEX

author graphic

AUTHOR INTERVIEWS

icon-microphone-radio-broadcast-singing

Your support continues to make our mission possible.

Thank you.

black tree